PDF Download

Niall Coleman-Clarke

I have been programming as a hobby since 2013 and my first paid job was in 2016. I like to explore a variety of different areas in computer science and solve challenges that come up in each project. I have many personal projects on my github.



Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence BSc (Hons); University Of Sussex

Grade Received: 1st (79%)


College Education; Bartholomew’s Tutorial College (Brighton)
A-Level results obtained:

A: Computer Science
A: Mathematics
B: Physics


Cartographer: React Developer
    (May 2022 - January 2023)

I assisted with the development of a cross-platform form engine for a geographical data collection platform with web and mobile client apps. The project involved work on multiple projects for web and mobile using TypeScript, React, using a variety of build tools and other libraries.

Photobot: Python Django Development/Google Firebase Development
    (April 2021 - March 2022)

I started work on an existing codebase as the sole developer, where I accomplished a number of tasks and worked across a few products. One of the tasks involved upgrading the Heroku stack from cedar-14 to heroku-18, where I also upgraded the minor Python version and it’s dependencies. I also worked on custom Python client code, which communicated with the server’s API, which I was also working on. I also introduced many unit tests, to help ensure reliability and give confidence that things work the way they should. Another one of the products I worked on was using the Firebase stack to host embeds, where they would be able to seamlessly fit into any page. These embeds would be able to receive custom styling/text content from the parent page to not disrupt the user experience/webpage interface.

Buzzshot: Python Django Developer
    (July 2019 - August 2021)

I added a complete new feature to the app all the way from specification to deployment to end users, with coding in Python, HTML and CSS and including automated testing. I learnt about using Django in the industry; implementing services and interacting with APIs. I learnt how to contribute and work with an existing codebase and also adhere to the standards already in place.
I also developed a new app for Buzzshot from idea to launchable product, on my own where I got handed a brief and I had control over the rest (including UI - front page as well).

Peer Assisted Learning Program: Leader/Mentor
    (September 2019 - June 2021)

Throughout 2nd and 3rd years at university, I worked in the peer assisted learning program, helping other students in computer science with their understanding, and assignments, and exam preparations. The learning was mutual - while I helped them, I also learnt about the many different approaches to solving a given problem.

UXBrighton: Front-end Web Developer
    (August 2019 - September 2019)

Worked directly on the UXBrighton website using HTML, Javascript and CSS. When working, I had to keep in mind responsive web design principles and have learnt how to use them. I also helped getting the website to comply with the WCAG-A accessibility standards.

Buzzshot: Lua Script Developer
    (August 2018 - August 2018)

I wrote Lua code to run on an embedded system housed in an SD Card to allow direct integration between DSLR Cameras and the Buzzshot system. I overcame the challenges of poor existing documentation and a small, niche community.

Google Fonts: Software Developer in Test
    (August 2017 - August 2017)

I worked over the summer for google fonts as a developer in test using Python to write unit tests, as well as other miscellaneous tests. I learnt how to use git in a professional environment on a project with multiple contributors.


Codebar: Programming Coach
    (October 2017 - January 2019)

I volunteered for a while at Codebar in brighton, an organisation whose goal is to get more under-represented groups into tech roles. I think it’s a fantastic cause which is why I did it. I found teaching there incredibly rewarding and also educational for me as I learned things when coaching.

Howreadable: Experiment Development
    (December 2018 - December 2019)

I helped design the second iteration of this experiment which aims to collect empirical evidence on whether certain coding constructs/standards are more readable than their alternatives. I helped in defining the experimental method, the UX of the participant facing website, and designing and writing the code snippets used as test cases.

Work Experience

Wish Studios
    (August 2018 - August 2018)

I worked with the Unreal Engine where I made my own personal game mechanics. I had an insight into the games industry as well as how work might be for a games developer.

Pragmatic WordPress Agency
    (April 2017 - April 2017)

I had the opportunity to shadow many people working at the web agency. As a part of the work experience, I worked on my own personal portfolio website using wordpress with a little bit of PHP, HTML and CSS.

Technical Experience

Platformer Game: Personal Project

A simple platformer game I created using the Love2D game engine which uses Lua to program. Towards the end of the project, I did shading for the game as well which was written using GLSL. The goal was to create everything myself and so I did; from physics to an ingame map editor and even down to the compression of those maps. I worked on it alongside college for 2 years.

Platformer Map Compression: Presentation

I gave a talk at a programming meetup (mainly about Javascript, but can be anything to do with programming) here in brighton called asyncjs. The talk was on how the map compression for my platformer game works, including the algorithm and the file format. I covered areas as complex as bit manipulation to an audience with different levels of experience in computer science. When I was talking to people afterwards, everyone seemed to understand the content in the presentation.

Programming Languages

Other Hobbies

I listen to many types of music, however I mainly listen to chill, hip-hop, dance and occasionally drum and bass.
I love to go out with friends and also love talking with people in general.
Travelling is something that I have loved ever since I remember; enjoying the culture and also eating the local cuisine.

https://eniallator.com • 25 years old